Cavan Valance On The Highline

Cavan Valance
The Highline

Cavan and I spent the earlier part of a Sunday afternoon in early November shooting up on the Highline. I was a little wary of choosing that as a location since it has become such a tourist magnet, especially on the weekends, but logistically it was a good place for us to meet. Thankfully it wasn’t as mobbed as I thought it would be since the New York City marathon was taking place that day, so I think most of the crowds convened uptown much to my relief.

As per usual, wherever Cavan goes, there his trusty Martin Little guitar follows. It was put to good use as many of the people that passed us were intrigued to hear him sing his heart out and it was an idyllic setting to hear someone play live music. The shoot and the day felt pretty informal and Cavan dressed appropriately casual. His outfit consisted of a great vintage army jacket that he swiped from one of his brothers, a solid pink oxford button down shirt from Gap, form fitting jeans and a great pair of Ted Baker shoes. He swapped out the green jacket for a grey waist coat and I was surprised how one tiny piece of clothing made him look much more polished and somewhat of rock star in an instant. He also brought along a shall collar sweater that I was tempted to throw on myself since it was windy up there. That sweater can be seen in Monday’s post of him. For now, enjoy the view from the top. Top of the Highline that is.

Please check back on Monday morning for the second part of Cavan on the Highline.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Cavan Valance On The Highline

  1. avoirunevie says:

    I love this post, David … I dislike the Highline, but I love Mr. Valance and his style.

    • Yeah the Highline is only great early in the morning, when it feels like people from the neighborhood or going to work. When it’s local it’s good, but that’s a small window of time each day.

  2. I like him best in the vest…and his shirt tucked in…but then, I’m of an older generation. Thanks for the “Follow”!

  3. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    I KINDA LIKE THE HIGHLINE…AND SHIRTS TUCKED IN!!!!

Leave a Reply

