Introducing Cavan T. Valance


Cavan Valance
SoHo/TriBeCa

I met Cavan while he was strumming his guitar on Mercer St. in Soho. I was on my way to an appointment, as he was on a break from work. I noticed him playing and I asked to snap a few shots, while he sang and he agreed. Conscious of the time, I quickly said thank you while making a mad dash, but before I could get away he stopped me to take my info so that I could send him the pics. Realizing that he’d be a perfect subject for my site, I’m glad he chimed in before I left without a proper introduction as it would have been to my detriment because Cavan has turned out to be the consummate collaborator. We’ve met a few times and each time he has been so game, so open, fun loving, carefree, full of energy and willing to try anything. For example, I wanted a few shots of his tattoos, so he ripped his shirt off and we laughed at the absurdity of him being in a drafty alleyway in Tribeca on a brisk fall day with him shirtless like he was at the beach. There were hardly any serious or smoldering looks in that series of shots since the situation only warranted laughter. Suffice it to say, he totally brings his A game to the table and is very easy going. Taking so many photographs of Cavan, it’s obvious that the camera loves him (somebody get this guy a modeling contract stat!) But he’s more than just good looks. He’s got a lot of substance and enthusiasm and a very relaxed attitude.

Cavan is an aspiring musician/singer/songwriter. His music leans towards acoustic and rock and his aim is storytelling through song. It’s a passion of his that literally travels with him everywhere since I feel that his guitar is always by his side. It seemed to be the one constant fixture in our meetings. He grew up in Glen Cove, Long Island, the oldest in a set of four siblings in a big Italian/Irish family. Family is a big deal to him and speaks highly of his and of the one he’d like to one day create. He’s currently in retail management in Soho. Not that he can be put into a box, but Cavan has that all american vibe going on and he openly refers to himself as the “flip flops and tank tops guy”. He’s not big into high style or fashion as his wardrobe is a mix from the likes of Hollister to the more refined Ted Baker, but he’s just more prone to whatever appeals to his eye whatever the brand and is not a label snob. Designer wise he likes Ralph Lauren, specifically the Double RL line which is more rugged, rough and playful and is more his speed. He wears a suit well, but I get the sense that he likes clothes he can move in and not be so restricted since he’s very athletic. Hearing him talk of his mornings up at 5 a.m. to work out and how a marathon is too one note for him and that he prefers triathlons for more variety made my need for 9 hours of sleep a night seem a bit indulgent.

Fitness is very important to him and with six tattoos scattered around his torso, all the more reason he likes to keep his frame in shape. People who have tattoos attach meaning, stories or sentiment behind each one and the theme I noticed with Cavan’s ink was the poignancy of family. His tattoos range from one named after and commemorating his grandmother and great grandmother Virginia Rose, to an anchor with the letter M, which refers to mother, as she is his anchor and to the word Veritas, which stands for truth. The truth about Cavan is that he’s open to all the possibilities and takes advantage of every opportunity that comes his way.

Cavan’s tunes: http://www.soundcloud.com/Cavan-t-valance

Please check back later today for another post on Cavan

For more information on Cavan please email MasculineManhattan@gmail.com

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Introducing Cavan T. Valance

  1. avoirunevie says:

    A reblogué ceci sur Paris From the Inside Out and commented:
    This interview is from the blog masculinemanhattan.com, which is totally cool, pertinent and New Yorkacious. I love this post, especially the fact that one of the interviewee’s tattoos commemorates his great grandmother!

  2. avoirunevie says:

    By the way, I tried to reblog it, David (as you see above) … so that people would see it on both of our blogs. However, it wouldn’t reblog properly. Does it have a virus or something? (Not that I understand the vicissitudes of computer virii!). Anyway … I’ll mention it in my post tomorrow. It’s a superb post.

  3. avoirunevie says:

    It absolutely won’t reblog, David … I’ve tried and tried. Hmm. Something is amiss.

  4. avoirunevie says:

    Still won’t work, David. Aaargh! WordPress suggests that you repost it. Not sure what that means. I think I’m moving back to New York and be closer to my family. I have no friends left in New York … so …

  5. I like what you guys tend to be up too. This type
    of clever work and exposure! Keep up the great works guys
    I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

Leave a Reply

